Found Treasures – How to Wear Your Thrift Store Clothes

Thrifting is a great pastime of mine. It is especially fulfilling when I have a 50% off coupon or some form of a discount. I have gotten many worn- once or never worn treasures from the second hand stores. I learned about the whole idea of thrift-ing when I lived in Nashville, Tennessee. Actually, two men took my friend and I out on a Sunday thrifting haul. They drove us all over the city and we spent maybe $30 the whole day for some great stuff. The men were graffiti artists who were very eclectic, but not in a cookie-cutter type of way. They just were not into paying a lot for clothes. I have been doing it ever since.

A lot of people can’t get with wearing used clothes and I understand, but to each his own. I think it is a wonderful challenge and if I was money-rich, I would still not waste cash buying expensive threads. It is just not necessary for me to have a $900 pair of stockings or a $5000 dress. Not ever going to happen for me. I am not even into spending large amounts of cash for wedding attire. As I say in my poetry, “I can walk down the aisle in a $3 dress.”  I’m just that type of girl.

So this is a green dress I got for $2.35 at Value World. Well, it was 50% off that price because I had  a coupon. The fabric feels great and it looked like it had been slightly worn. I washed and ironed it, which I think may have caused it to change shape a bit. I have to be more careful with that. The sandals are by Chinese Laundry.

I really love to pair earth-toned dresses with this style of sandal. I once found some at Kohl’s. I also think animal-skin printed sandals look great with solid colored clothing. Something like this…

givenchy-gladiator-leopard-flat-woven-sandalsPrints
Check out this blog for other sandal ideas: huaracheblog.wordpress.com/

Queen Duafe for African Essence

P.S. Looking for some good music? In 2005 an artist named Lina released a CD on the Hidden Beach record label (same as Jill Scott) named The Inner Beauty Movement. It is an amazing CD. Check it out…

12 thoughts on “Found Treasures – How to Wear Your Thrift Store Clothes

  1. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really
    well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and
    return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

    Like

  2. What’s up, yes this piece of writing is actually fastidious and I have learned
    lot of things from it concerning blogging.
    thanks.

    Like

  3. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

    Like

  4. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for
    you? Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks

    Like

    • Hello there. No, I didn’t hire anyone. I actually created this myself. I studied digital media design in school, so I possess some understanding of what works. I always mix what I’ve learned with who I am, and I am a very colorful person… this is the product. wordpress makes it pretty simple. I have spent a lot of time playing around on here because that is how I learn most things: by accident! Let me know your thoughts and thank you.

      Peace and much love.

      -Queen

      Like

Comments are closed.